Shariatpur Journalists Association has formed

Published:Saturday, 09 Jan 2016 03:01

1510753_10153467488512872_2045658777254956744_nA 21-member executive committee of Shariatpur Journalists Association, Dhaka has unanimously been formed with Rafiqul Islam Azad of The Independent and Mizanur Rahman of PIB as its president and general secretary respectively.
The committee has been formed at the annual general meeting of the association at Dhaka Reporters Unity on Saturday with its past convenor Rafiqul Islam Azad in the chair. The full-fledged committee, first of its kind, will work for a two year-term (2016-2017).
The other office bearers of the organisation are: vice presidents-Abdus Salam (Prothom Alo), KM Azizur Rahman ( and Sazzad Hossain Sabuj (BSS), joint secretaries–Rojina Islam (Prothom Alo) and Rezaul Haque Reza (Channel-i), organising secretary- Habibur Rahman Polash (AsianTV), finance secretary- Anisur Rahman (Financial Express), publicity and publication secretary-Borhanuddin (Arthakantho), sports and cultural secretary-Ferdous Ahmed Rupak (Dainik Bartoman), social welfare secretary-Shahadat Hossain Shahin (Ganomukti), training and research secretary- Benjir Ahmmad (Bangla Vision) and office secretary- Asaduzzaman Azam (Bhorer Pata).
The executive members are: Mozammel Haque Chanchal (Jugantor), Fakhrul Islam (Sangbad Mohna), Syed Abdul Gaffar Tapon (IndependentTV), Jahangir Alam (Sangbad Mohna), Kamal Mosharef ( and Zakia Ahmed (Bangla Tribune).
Senior journalists–Mostaque Ahmed Mobaroki, Mahmud Shafiq, Syed Zahirul Abedin and Fakhrul Alam Kanchan have been elected members of Advisory Council of the organisation.
Shariatpur Journalists Association, Dhaka was floated on December 16, 2014 through formation an 11-mmber convening committee with Rafiqul Islam Azad and Mizanur Rahman as its convenor and member-secretary.